

Fiji Teachers Union

(The Child Our Hope)

March 2013

NEWSLETTER

Vol. 82. No. 4
Editor Manhar Kumar

Published by the Fiji Teachers Union

1-3 Berry Road, P.O. Box 2203 Govt Building, Suva. Phone: 331 4099 / 331 4668, Fax: 330 5962, Email: ftu@connect.com.fj

GREETINGS

Warm greetings to all our valued members.

83rd ANNUAL CONFERENCE 2013

uva Branch is fully geared up to host the 2013 AGM and Conference. The details of the conference are as follows:

Host Branch: Suva

Dates: 29th April – 2nd May 2013 Venue: Kshatriya Hall, Suva

Theme: "Status of Teachers in an

Evolving Democracy"

Chief Guest: Professor Biman Chand

Prasad.

Professor Biman Chand Prasad, Professor of Economics at the University of the South Pacific has accepted our invitation to be the Chief Guest and Keynote Speaker at the 83rd AGM & Conference.

Professor Prasad has received numerous research grants on key development issues in the region.

Professor Prasad is a recipient of the 2011 Vice Chancellor's Prize for Excellence in Research Leadership at the University of the South Pacific.



He is a regular media commentator and has given numerous interviews to local and international media as well as contributing columns to newspapers and magazines on various political and economic issues in the region.

CONFERENCE ATTENDANCE

Branches are requested to bring large delegations to the 83rd AGM in order to make a strong statement to the authorities on the numerous matters of grave concern pertaining to the status of teachers and workers at large in the country.

BILLETING

Suva Branch will soon be advising all Branch Secretaries of the billeting arrangements. Branches can also contact Bro Rajnesh Lingam on 8399482, 9928024.

CULTURAL NIGHT

Members who wish to perform during the Cultural Night on Tuesday 30th April 2013 are to give their names to their Branch Secretaries before 25th April 2013.

SPORTS

As usual sports will once again be a major feature of the conference. Branches are expected to prepare the teams to participate in soccer, netball and volleyball. If any other sport is organized, Suva branch will inform the branches in advance.

CONFERENCE PROGRAMME

Monday 29th April 2013

10.00am : National Executive

Committee Meeting

2.00pm : Sports Committee Meeting

Tuesday 30th April 2013

8.30 – 9.00am: Registration of delegates 9.15: Guests and delegates get seated

9.30 : Official Opening of 83rd AGM and Annual Conference

: Welcome Address by Chairperson – Suva Branch

: Presidential Address

:Keynote Address & Official Opening

: Vote of Thanks

10.30 : Morning Tea

11.00 : Annual General Meeting: Minutes of the 2012 AGM. 2012/2013 Activities Report including Audited Financial Report.

: Resolutions

2.00pm : Lunch

3.30pm : Sports – Teams

Parade/Official Opening –

Chief Guest

7.00pm : Cultural Night

Wednesday 1st May 2013

9.00am : FTU Co-operative Thrift &

Credit Society Ltd AGM

10.30 : Morning Tea

11.00 : Women's Wing Meeting

1.00pm : Lunch 2.00 : Sports

7.00pm : CTCL Social

Thursday 2nd May 2013

8.30am : FTU Sports

Presentation of Trophies and

Prizes

10.00am : Post Conference National

Executive Meeting

NOTICE OF ELECTION OF OFFICERS - 2013

All financial members of the Union, whose names appear on the Electoral Roll, which closes on 22nd March 2013, are notified that nominations have been received as outlined below and elections will take place as per the schedule prescribed herein.

Elections will take place on Saturday 13th of April 2013.

Election of President (1 only)

1.	MUNIAPPA	Unopposed
	GOUNDAR	

Election of Vice Presidents (2 only)

1.	NASEEM ALI	
2.	PRANESH SHARMA	
3.	VIDYA SINGH	

Election of General Secretary (1 Only)

1.	AGNI DEO SINGH		
2.	JOWAHIR LAL		

Election of Assistant General Secretary (1 only)

1.	RAJNESH	ISHWAR	Unopposed
	LINGAM		

Election of General Treasurer (1 only)

1.	SASHI	Unopposed
	MAHENDRA	
	SHANDIL	

Election of Personnel Officer (1 only)

1.	VISHNU	SHARMA	Unopposed
----	--------	--------	-----------

Election of Publicity Officer (1 only)

1. MANHAR KUMAR Unopposed

Election of Executive Comm. Members (3 only)

١		my)	
	1.	NAKUL DEO	
		BARMAN	
	2.	NILESH CHAND	
	3.	PRATOSH KUMAR	
	4.	RAMESHWAR LAL	
	5.	ROHITESH CHAND	
	6	SAROJKIMAR	

ELECTORAL ROLL

The Union membership for election closes on 22nd March, 2013. The Electoral Roll will be availed to all Braich Secretaries in advance so that branches and members can verify and update their membership. In the event of any errors or omissions, the member concerned or the Branch should inform the Secretariat in writing before 28th March 2013. Cash paying members, whose subs are not renewed by 28th March, 2013, will not be included in the Electoral Roll.

New recruits, whose subscriptions are not deducted at source, must pay for the year in full. Applicants whose membership is approved by 22nd March, 2013 will be cluded in the list.

ELECTORAL PROCEDURE

Members are restricted to voting at their Branch Polling Station(s). However, if for some reason, a member wishes to vote at a different Polling Station, he/she must take a written consent from the General Secretary.

POSTAL BALLOT

Selected remote school members will cast their votes through postal ballot. These schools will normally be in localities where FTU does not have branches. Postal ballot will be forwarded on 18th March, 2013 and must reach the Chief Scrutineer at the Head Quarters before 12th of April 2013.

ELECTION CAMPAIGN REMINDER

Candidates and their campaign agents and members are reminded that campaign material should be positive, properly authorized and free from character assassination. All candidates and their campaigners are cautioned that campaign materials should not be slanderous or defamatory. Everyone must ensure that we act and carry out our election responsibilities respectfully and within the laws.

JOURNAL

Members are invited to write an article for this year's journal. National Executive members are reminded of the requirement to submit an article for the Journal. The due date for the article is 15th of April 2013. Articles can be e-mailed on: ftu@connect.com.fj or to the Publicity Officer on: kumar.manhar@yahoo.com

POLLING STATIONS (to be verified)

vermeu)					
Branch	Polling	Opening	Closing		
	Station	Time	Time		
Suva	FTU HQ	9am	2pm		
Nasinu	Rishikul	9am	2pm		
	College				
Rewa	Vunimono	9am	2pm		
	Sanatan Pri				
Tailevu	Korovou Pri	9am	12pm		
Ra	Penang	9am	12pm		
	Sangam Pri				
Ra	Vunikavikaloa	9am	12pm		
	Arya				
Tavua	Tavua	9am	1pm		
	Primary				
Ba	Ba Sangam	9am	2pm		
	Pri				
Lautoka	Lautoka	9am	2pm		
	Central Pri				
Nadi	Andrews Pri	9am	2pm		
Nadroga	Sigatoka	9am	2pm		
	Methodist				
Navua	Vashist Muni	9am	12pm		
	Pri				
Labasa	St. Mary's	9am	2pm		
Labasa	Dreketi Pri	9am	2pm		
Labasa	Daku	9am	12pm		
	Bhartiya				
Labasa	Seaqaqa Sec	9am	12pm		
Savusavu	Khemendra	9am	12pm		
	Bhartiya				
Taveuni	Bucalevu Sec	9am	12pm		
Bua	Lekutu	9am	12pm		
	Bhartiya				
Levuka	Levuka	10am	3pm		
	Primary				

MEMBERSHIP

It is pleasing to record that the Union membership has increased substantially in the last 12 months. The same is the case with the FTU CTCL. CTCL Loan ceiling has been raised from \$60,000.00 to \$75,000.00. Members will note that the larger the membership the better the benefits.

SELF FUNDING MEDICAL PLAN

This initiative was approved by the 2011

AGM in Rewa. It is indeed pleasing to report that the scheme is doing extremely well. All the members and their families who needed treatment have been assisted and the fund enjoys a strong surplus. As predicted, the benefits are going to be increased incrementally.



Ms. Rose Sharma, Senior Education Officer - Central (Seated third from Right) was the Chief Guest at the IWD Celebration in Rewa

REFLECTION... 2002 AGM HOSTED BY SUVA BRANCH







